Sticky Notes of Thoughts

…because some thoughts are worth remembering

On Note-taking: From the Fifth Discipline

IMG_1411.JPG

I enjoy taking notes. Not only do I end up with a record of what I found important at the time or what I wanted to remember for later, the act of note-taking helped me to focus and as a result, helps me remember the content.  It can get out of hand at times, where having a notebook by my side can entice me to jot down more than necessary. As a result, my output, the pages of notes, would be less useful later because I ended up including things that wasn’t as important to me, and I have to read through it all to get to the things I really cherished.

My solution was to keep a pad of sticky notes instead, where one sticky note mapped to one idea, so I can do some editing in my head as I jotted the ideas down.

The Fifth Discipline: The Art and Practice of the Learning Organization was a thick book with many things that I was able to internalize (e.g., system thinking), but I also wanted to remember specific details and refer to them later. I have several sticky notes for it, including The Laws of the Fifth Discipline:

  1. Today’s problems came from yesterday’s “solutions”
  2. The harder you push, the harder the system pushes back
  3. Behavior grows better before it grows worse
  4. The easy way out usually leads back in
  5. The cure can be worse than the disease
  6. Faster is slower
  7. Cause and effect are not closely related in time and space
  8. Small changes can produce big results, but areas of highest leverages are often the least obvious
  9. You can have your cake and eat it too, but not at once
  10. Dividing an elephant in 1/2 does not produce 2 small elephants
  11. There is no blame.

Photo: Statue of Dante in Italy

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2015 by in books, Management and tagged , , , .
Follow Sticky Notes of Thoughts on WordPress.com
