Sticky Notes of Thoughts

…because some thoughts are worth remembering

On What is Poetry

LanaiLodge

When I was explaining my thesis on sonoluminescence to people without much scientific background, one of the first questions I got was “what’s the application?”, as if science had no meaning without a hope for application. I did my best to take the question at face value, because they were probably doing their best to show interest in my work, despite their discomfort with science. The pursuit of truth and understanding of our natural world sounds like a noble enough cause to me.

I wondered, though, if poets got asked this question…

While I don’t expect poetry to have a purpose, I thought Robert Frost put it elegantly.

Then I heard Billy Collins say in an interview (on leadership, no less), that “poems are like a history of emotions”. I don’t know what to do with it, except I find myself thinking about it. I hope my thoughts will end in wisdom, as my delight in his poems.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2015 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , .
Follow Sticky Notes of Thoughts on WordPress.com
